Latest News

National Merit Scholarship Corporation Recognizes Sixteen Students

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced the names of sixteen members of the Class of 2022 at La Salle College High School who were recognized as semifinalists or commended students in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors represent the highest scoring entrants in the United States and several will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Pictured with Brother James J. Butler, FSC, President and Principal James E. Fyke are:
Timothy W. Brandt, Gavin T. Brooke, Brendan Coggins, Michael K. Dukissis, Eric E. Fryer, Joshua P. Lloyd, George P. Lynch, Timothy C. Madden, Sean J. McManus, Luke T. Murray, Evan A. Palumbo, Michael A. Quigley, Noah E. Ross, Matthew J. Sasso, Alexander J. Sorgini, and Zachary R. Whiting.

  • Academic News
  • Academics
  • General News
  • homepage

More News

La Salle Social Media