Latest News

Mr. Tony Resch To Be Inducted Into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame announces the addition of eight new inductees as the Class of 2021. 

The 2021 inductees are: Mr. Tony Resch - current La Salle Lacrosse Associate Head Coach and Grade Level Counselor, Sheehan Stanwick Burch, Patty Daley, Jenny Levy, Ryan McClay, John Pirro (posthumous), Kris Snider, and Beth Stone. 

Resch is being inducted as a truly great coach. As a head coach in National League Lacrosse, he won four league championships in eight seasons with the Philadelphia Wings, and was selected as the NLL’s coach of the year in 2001. In Major League Lacrosse, Resch piloted the Philadelphia Barrage to the MLL title in two of his four seasons, and was the league’s coach of the year in both 2006 and 2008. He has also served as a long-time MLL assistant coach for four different clubs and was a part of three additional MLL championships.

Internationally, Resch served as an assistant coach for the U.S. Men’s National Team in both 2010 and 2018 and helped the team win the gold medal both times. He also served as head coach for the 2015 U.S. Men’s Indoor team which captured the bronze medal. For the past 18 years, Resch has also served as an assistant coach for the LaSalle High School boys’ team in Wyndmoor, Pa., with four state championships and two runner-up finishes. He has been previously inducted into four halls of fame, including the NLL Hall of Fame in 2008 and the Pennsylvania Hall of Fame in 2017.

The newest members will be officially inducted in a ceremony at a date to be announced in the near future.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of USA Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. 

Full Story:

  • Athletics
  • Athletics News
  • General News
  • homepage
  • Lacrosse News

La Salle Social Media