Cross Country Team Places 2nd at PCL Championships for the 5th Consecutive Year

Cross Country Team Places 2nd at PCL Championships for the 5th Consecutive Year
Nine Explorers were also named 1st Team All-Catholic

The La Salle College High School Cross Country team placed 2nd at the PCL Championship for the 5th consecutive year. The varsity team capped the meet with the team’s best showing at Belmont Plateau this year.

Competing well against the PIAA #1 ranked team, Cardinal O’Hara, the varsity squad was edged out 24-45. The team was led by junior Pat Grant’s 5th place in a personal best time of 16:52 for the 5,000m course. He was followed quickly by the pack of Sean Princivalle, Ryan Mitchell, and Eddie Goebel, placing 8th, 9th, and 10th respectively.

Rounding out the varsity was Corey Driscoll in 13th, Steve Paul in 14th, and Brendan Price in 18th. The team posted a solid 17:05 five man average.

Grant, Princivalle, Mitchell, Goebel, Driscoll, and Paul all earned 1st Team All-Catholic (joining sophomores Greg Galbreath, Jack Galbreath, and freshman Evan Addison who also earned 1st Team honors during the regular season, for a total of 9 1st Teamers). Price earned 2nd Team All-Catholic (and was joined on the All-Catholic team by Honorable Mention honorees of Michael Phayre and Tommy Farrell, for a total of 12 All-Catholics).

The Junior Varsity team captured the PCL title with 19 points (O’Hara was 2nd with 51). The team was led by the individual champion, junior Nick Camusi, running an impressive 24 second PR of 17:47. He was followed by a pack of Explorers that grabbed places 3-9. Michael Phayre, Ian Challingsworth, Frank Livolsi, Tommy Farrell, Jack Galbreath, Greg Galbreath, and David Kennedy all packed in the top 10, with Quinn O’Neill just behind them in 11th.

The Freshman team also captured the PCL title with a perfect score of 15 points, taking 5 out of the top 6 places (the Wood runner in 4th was part ofan incomplete team and did not count in team scoring). The team was led by PCL Freshman individual champion Evan Addison (his 4th Freshman race win of the year). Following Addison was an impressive group in 2-3-5-6 of Liam Ward, John Taulane, Chris Mulligan, and Jimmy Lombardi. Rounding out the top team’s top 10, and all placing in the top 20 were Sean Egan (10th), Kyle O’Conner (12th), Andrew Taulane (17th), Michael Reilly (18th), and James Marek (19th).

The varsity team will now compete to qualify for the PIAA State Championship at the PIAA District XII Championship this Thursday, October 23rd.

More News